29.2 C
Thursday, May 26, 2022


UK removes Nigeria, 10 other countries from travel red list

The United Kingdom (UK) government on Tuesday said that will remove all 11 countries, including Nigeria from its travel red list from 4 am on Wednesday.

Angola, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe are on the list.

The red list was reintroduced in late November as a precaution after the emergence of the Omicron variant.

But Health Secretary Sajid Javid said it had spread so widely the rules no longer had much purpose, the BBC reports.

READ ALSO: FG says Marriages conducted at Ikoyi Registry valid, moves to appeal judgment

Currently, all UK arrivals from red list countries must pay for and self-isolate in a pre-booked, government-approved hotel for 10 days.

Some travellers have already paid thousands of pounds to stay in government-approved quarantine hotels, and there have been complaints of chaotic organisation and inedible food during their stays.

Javid said he had asked for urgent advice on whether those currently in managed quarantine would be able to leave early.

He also said he was “very persuaded” by calls to reimburse people and hoped to make an announcement soon.

Latest news
- Advertisement -spot_img
Related news