- Advertisement -spot_img
28.2 C
HomeTop NewsTinubu replaces service chiefs, appoints Ribadu NSA, Egbetokun IG, Adewale customs chiefs

Tinubu replaces service chiefs, appoints Ribadu NSA, Egbetokun IG, Adewale customs chiefs

- Advertisement -spot_img

President Bola Tinubu on Monday forced out the security chiefs and the head of police and replaced them with new appointments, in a major reshuffle of the country’s defence forces.

Tinubu has named new commanders of the defence forces, army, navy air force with immediate effect, according to a statement by the Director of Information in the office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Willie Bassey.

The president appointed the pioneer chairman of the economic and Financial Crime Commission (EFCC), Nuhu Ribadu as new National Security Adviser and Christopher Musa, a Major General as the new Chief of Defence Staff.

“President Bola Ahmed Tinubu, has approved the immediate retirement of all Service Chiefs and the Inspector-General of Police, Advisers, and Comptroller-General of Customs from Service as well as their replacements with immediate effect,” said Bassey in the statement.

Nigeria’s military has been fighting Isla mist insurgents in the northeast for more than a decade, and banditry and kidnappings in the northwest as insecurity has spread to most parts of the country.

READ ALSO: Oil prices fall as questions on China’s economic growth outweigh OPEC output cut, other concerns

Details of the new appointment are below:

The newly appointed Officers are:


1 Mallam Nuhu Ribadu National Security Adviser

2 Maj. General C.G Musa Chief of Defence Staff

3 Major General T. A Lagbaja Chief of Army Staff

4 Rear Admiral E. A Ogalla Chief of Naval Staff

5 AVM H.B Abubakar Chief of Air Staff

6 DIG Kayode Egbetokun Acting Inspector-General of Police

7 Maj. Gen. EPA Undiandeye Chief of Defense Intelligence

Mr President has also approved the following appointments:


1 Col. Adebisi Onasanya Brigade of Guards Commander

2 Lt. Col. Moshood Abiodun Yusuf 7 Guards Battalion, Asokoro, Abuja

3 Lt. Col. Auwalu Baba Inuwa 177, Guards Battalion, Keffi, Nasarawa State

4 Lt. Col. Mohammed J. Abdulkarim 102 Guards Battalion, Suleja, Niger

5 Lt. Col. Olumide A. Akingbesote 176 Guards Battalion, Gwagwalada, Abuja

Similarly, the President has approved the appointments of other Military Officers in the Presidential Villa as follows:


1 Maj. Isa Farouk Audu

(N/14695) Commanding Officer State House Artillery

2 Capt. Kazeem Olalekan Sunmonu (N/16183) Second-in-Command, State House Artillery

3 Maj. Kamaru Koyejo Hamzat (N/14656) Commanding Officer, State House Military Intelligence

4 Maj. TS Adeola (N/12860) Commanding Officer, State House Armament

5 Lt. A. Aminu (N/18578) Second-in-Command, State House Armament

Mr. President has also approved the appointments of two (2) additional Special Advisers, and two (2) Senior Assistants, namely:


1 Hadiza Bala Usman Special Adviser, Policy Coordination

2 Hannatu Musa Musawa Special Adviser, Culture and Entertainment Economy

3 Abdullahi Abubakar Gumel Senior Special Assistant, National Assembly Matters (Senate)

4 Olarewaju Kunle Ibrahim Senior Special Assistant, National Assembly Matters (House of Representatives)

Finally, the President has approved the appointment of Adeniyi Bashir Adewale as the Ag. Comptroller General of Customs.

It is to be noted that the appointed Service Chiefs, the Inspector-General of Police and the Comptroller General of Customs are to act in their positions, pending their confirmation in accordance with the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

(omayowa@globalfinancialdigest.com; Newsroom: +234 8033 964 138)

Join Our Mailing List!

* indicates required
- Advertisement -spot_img
- Advertisement -spot_img
Must Read
Related News
- Advertisement -spot_img