- Advertisement -spot_img
28.2 C
HomeTop NewsSenate confirms Onochie, Buhari's S.A new media as NDDC chairman, 11 others...

Senate confirms Onochie, Buhari’s S.A new media as NDDC chairman, 11 others as board members

- Advertisement -spot_img

The Senate has confirmed the appointment of the president’s Special Assistant on New Media, Lauretta Ifeanyi-Onochie, as the substantive Chairman of the Niger Delta Development Commission Board.

The Senate Tuesday at the plenary also confirmed 12 others except two who didn’t attend the screening conducted last Friday at the National Assembly complex.

While presenting his committee’s report, Bulus said the nominees possess the requirements to be on the NDDC governing board.

The senator said Pius Odudu and Anthony Okanne, nominees from Edo and Imo states, respectively, did not show up for the screening exercise.

“During our screening exercise, two of the nominees were absent and information was not given by the senior special assistant to the president of the national assembly (senate) for their absence,” he said.

“The committee stepped down their screening due to their absence. The nominees possess competence, integrity to lead the commission. The committee noted that they are fit.”

After the presentation of the report, Seirake Dickson, senator representing Bayelsa west, said that some of the nominees do not come from oil-producing communities.

During the screening, Dickson had asked Onochie if she was from an oil-producing community but she was told to respond to the question in a closed session.

READ ALSO: Musk plans to restrict policy polls to Twitter Blue users

“I want to observe that this is a fitting moment to commend the president. Finally, we have nominations to properly constitute the board of the NDDC as required by the act,” the former governor of Bayelsa said.

“We should add a clause calling on the president to ensure that their nominees come from oil-producing areas as required by the law.”

Thereafter, the nominations were confirmed after Senate President Ahmad Lawan put them to vote.

President Muhammadu Buhari had last week, requested the Senate to confirm the appointment of his Special Assistant on New Media, Lauretta Ifeanyi-Onochie as the substantive chairman of the Board of the NDDC.

Buhari had also named 14 others in the letter as Managing Director, Executive Directors, and members of the Board.

They included Samuel Ogbokwu, from Bayelsa State, as the Managing Director, who would serve for two years to complete the term of his predecessor in office.

Other members are Dimgba Erugba, representing Abia State, Emem Willcox Wills ( Akwa Ibom), Denyanbofa Dimaro (Bayelsa State), Orok Duke (Cross River) and Pius Odudu ( Edo State).

Others included Anthony Ekenne (Imo State), Gbenga Edema (Ondo State), Elekwachi Dimkpa (Rivers State), Mohammed Kabir Abubakar ( Nasarawa State, representing North-Cenral zone), Sadiq Sami Sule – Ikoh ( Kebbi State, North-West) and Tahir Mamman (Adamawa State, North-East).

The President also nominated Major-General Charles Airhiavbere (retd) from Edo State as the (Executive Director, Finance) and Charles Ogunmola, from Ondo State, as the Executive Director, Projects.

Join Our Mailing List!

* indicates required
- Advertisement -spot_img
- Advertisement -spot_img
Must Read
Related News
- Advertisement -spot_img