- Advertisement -spot_img
28.2 C
HomeTop NewsPresident Buhari appoints M.K Ahmad to chair TCN board, reappoints Usman as...

President Buhari appoints M.K Ahmad to chair TCN board, reappoints Usman as NPA CEO

- Advertisement -spot_img

By Oludare Mayowa

President Muhammadu Buhari on Thursday appointed the pioneer Director-General of the Pension Commission, Muhammad Ahmad to lead the board of the Transmission Company of Nigeria (TCN) and focus on recruiting a new managing director for the organisation.
The president also reappointed Hadiza Bala Usman as Managing Director of Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA), for the second term of five-year.
Ahmad has been tasked together with other members of the TCN board to recruit a new managing director for the power transmission company, which is currently being headed by an acting CEO appointed by the minister of Power, Sale Mamman.
The new chairman of the TCN was the pioneer DG of PENCOM and a former executive director of the Nigerian Deposit Insurance Corporation (NDIC).

READ ALSO: Buhari asks FIRS to plug revenue leakages by deploying digital platforms for tax collection
He is currently the board chairman of Polaris Bank and was recently emerged the president of the Society for Corporate Governance Nigeria (SCGN).
Ahmad is also a member of the Board of Directors of MTN Nigeria Communications and Chairman of the Interim Management Board of International Energy Insurance.
Other members of the TCN board Henry Okolo, Imamudden Talba, Ambassador Usman Sarki, Haruna, Simeone Atakulu, Zubaida Mahey Rasheed, Mustapha Abiodun Akinkunmi, Oladele Amoda, and Nkiru Balonwu.
Other members of the TCN Board are: Representatives of Ministry of Finance, Budget and National Planning, Ministry of Power, Bureau for Public Enterprise, FGN Power Company Limited, and Executive Management of TCN.
The president also approved the reconstitution of the Non-Executive Board of the NPA, with Emmanuel Olajide Adesoye (from the South-west zone) as Chairman.
Other members of the Board are Ekenyem Nwafor-Orizu (South-East zone), Akinwunmi Ricketts (South-South zone), Ghazali Mohammed Mijinyawa (North-East zone), Mustapha Amin Dutse (North-West zone), and Abdulwahab Adesina (North-Central zone).
Usman was appointed to head the management team of the NPA in July 2016 from her desk where she was the chief of staff to the Governor of Kaduna State from 2015 to 2016.
She graduated with a bachelor’s degree in business administration in 2000 from the Ahamadu Bellow University, Zaria.
The 45 years old Usman later received a master’s degree in development studies from the University of Leeds in 2009. 

Join Our Mailing List!

* indicates required
- Advertisement -spot_img
- Advertisement -spot_img
Must Read
Related News
- Advertisement -spot_img