- Advertisement -spot_img
34.3 C
HomeTop NewsNigerian Senate confirms Buratai, other ex-service chiefs as non-career ambassadors

Nigerian Senate confirms Buratai, other ex-service chiefs as non-career ambassadors

- Advertisement -spot_img

Nigerian Senate on Tuesday confirmed the appointment of former service chiefs as non-career ambassadors-designate despite public outcry and opposition against their nomination by President Mohammadu Buhari.

The four ex-service chiefs were confirmed after the Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs led by Mohammed Bulkachuwa submitted its report at the plenary.

President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan had asked the committee to screen the nominees after receiving and read the letter of their nomination from President Buhari at the plenary.

President Buhari had on the 5 of February, sent their names to the senate to be confirmed as non-career ambassadors.

READ ALSO: Benue Governor Ortom to Bala Mohammed; you’re a Fulani terrorist, warns Bauchi Gov against incitement
The four military chiefs are; Abayomi Olonisakin from Ekiti; Tukur Buratai from Borno; Ibok- Ette Ibas from Cross River; Sadique Abubakar from Bauchi and Muhammad Usman from Kano) as non-career ambassadors.

An attempt by the Minority Leader, Enyinnaya Abaribe, to draw the attention of his colleagues to a petition against their confirmation was stopped by the President of Senate, Lawan.

Abaribe had asked Bulkachuwa, to explain why the petition against them was dismissed but Lawan said the petition lacked merit.

Many Nigerians had condemned their nomination, noting that it was a plan to shield them from prosecution by the International Criminal Court (ICC) for alleged abuses committed by the Nigerian military under their watch.


Join Our Mailing List!

* indicates required
- Advertisement -spot_img
- Advertisement -spot_img
Must Read
Related News
- Advertisement -spot_img