- Advertisement -spot_img
28.2 C
HomeBusinessNigeria renames 15 airports after Awolowo, Idiagbon, Maimalari others

Nigeria renames 15 airports after Awolowo, Idiagbon, Maimalari others

- Advertisement -spot_img

Outgoing Nigerian President, Mohammadu Buhari has approved the renaming of 15 airports across the country after some prominent Nigerians.

A statement released by the Ministry of Aviation and signed by the Head of Press and Public Affairs, Odutayo Oluseyi, disclosed that the approval was given on Friday, May 2.

According to the statements, the airports to be renamed include Akure International Airport, named after Olumuyiwa Bernard Aliu; Benin International Airport, now known as Oba Akenzua II; Dutse International Airport, renamed Muhammed Nuhu Sanusi; Ebonyi International Airport, renamed Chuba Wilberforce Airport; and Gombe International Airport, renamed Brigadier Zakari Maimalari.

READ ALSO: Everton survives as Leicester and Leeds are relegated on dramatic final day

Others include Ibadan International Airport, renamed after Samuel Ladoke Akintola; Ilorin International Airport, renamed after Tunde Abdullahi Idiagbon; Kaduna International Airport, renamed after Gen. Hassan Usman Katsina; and Maiduguri International Airport, renamed after President Muhammadu Buhari.

The statement added that Makurdi International Airport will now be known as Joseph Sarwuan Tarka; Minna International Airport will be renamed Mall. Abubakar Imam; Nasarrawa International Airport was renamed after Sheikh Usman Danfodio; Osubi International Airport was renamed Alfred Diete Spiff; Port Harcourt International Airport was renamed Obafemi Jeremiah Awolowo; and Yola International Airport is now known as Lamido Aliyu Mustapha Airport.

Join Our Mailing List!

* indicates required
- Advertisement -spot_img
- Advertisement -spot_img
Must Read
Related News
- Advertisement -spot_img