- Advertisement -spot_img
28.2 C
HomeWorldGhana President reduces number of ministerial nominees, cuts ministries to save costs...

Ghana President reduces number of ministerial nominees, cuts ministries to save costs of governance

- Advertisement -spot_img

Ghanian President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo on Thursday sent the list of his ministerial nominees to the parliament as he cut back on the number of ministers to serve in his second term.

The president has reduced the number of ministers to 85 from 126 to reflect his resolve to have a leaner government in his second term.

The number of ministries has also been reduced to 28 from 36 previously.

The president is yet to furnish Parliament with his nominees for Deputy ministerial positions.  

The names of key sector nominees and regional ministers have been forwarded to Parliament for vetting and approval.

The list sent to the parliament includes Ken Ofori-Atta, the former finance minister who has been named as the finance minister-designate, whilst Albert Kan Dapaah retains his portfolio as the National Security minister.

READ ALSO: Fact check: Is it constitutional for Trump to be tried in the Senate after leaving office?

Also, Alan Kwadwo Kyeremanten will retain his position at the Trade and Industry ministry, Dominic Nitiwul and Ambrose Dery will continue at the Defence and Interior ministries respectively.

The President also nominated Shirley Ayorkor Botwe as Foreign minister, whilst Godfred Dame, was listed as Attorney General and Justice Minister.

The President has also nominated Dan Botwe for the Local Government, Decentralisation & Rural Development ministry.

Osei Kyei Mensah Bonsu, Majority leader in parliament has been designated minister for Parliamentary affairs, whilst Ursula Owusu-Ekuful, the legislator for Ablekuma West, has been designated as the Communications and Digitalisation Ministry minister.

Owusu Afriyie Akoto returns to the Food and Agriculture ministry, and the Member of Parliament for Manhyia, Matthew Opoku Prempeh will head to the Energy ministry.

Former Deputy Education Minister Yaw Osei Adutwum has been nominated to head that Ministry.

Agyemang Manu has been maintained at the Health Ministry, and former deputy chief of staff at the Presidency, Samuel Abdulai Jinapor goes to the Lands and Natural Resources ministry.

Kwasi Amoako-Atta stays at the Roads and Highways Ministry, whilst former deputy chief of staff, Francis Asenso Boakye, who joined the eighth parliament as the member for Bantama, goes to the Works and Housing ministry.

President Akufo-Addo has kept Kwaku Ofori Asiamah back at the Transport ministry and reassigned the Minister for Special Development Initiatives, Mavis Hawa Koomson to the Fisheries and Aquaculture Development ministry.

John Peter Amewu, the former Energy minister has been nominated minister for Railways Development.

Cecilia Abena Dapaah retains her position at the Sanitation and Water Resources ministry, and the former Business Development Minister, Awal Mohammed has been sent to the ministry for Tourism, Arts and Culture.

Former Minister for procurement, Sarah Adwoa Safo goes to the Gender, Children and Social Protection ministry, and Ebenezer Kojo Kum, MP for Ahanta West has been nominated as Chieftaincy and Religious Affairs minister-designate.

Kwaku Afriyie, a former minister of state at the Presidency has been nominated for the Environment, Science, Technology & Innovation ministry.

The President has retained Ignatius Baffuor Awuah, MP for Sunyani West and Kojo Oppong Nkrumah at the Employment and Labour Relations and Information ministries respectively.

Mustapha Yussif, MP for Yagaba Kubori and former National Service Coordinator, has been nominated to head the Youth and Sports ministry.

Joseph Cudjoe, MP for Effia Constituency in the Western region, has been nominated for the newly-created Ministry for Public Enterprises.

Freda Prempeh, Tano North legislator, has been nominated Minister of State for Works and Housing.

For the regional government, President Akufo-Addo nominated Goerge Boake for the Ahafo Region; retained Simon Osei-Mensah for the Ashanti Region, and named Justina Owusu-Banahene for the Bono region.

Adu Gyan has been called for the Bono East region, whilst Madam Justina Marigold Assan has been nominated for the Central. region.

Former MP for Mpreaso, Seth Acheampong has been nominated for the Eastern region, and Henry Quartey, MP for Ayawaso Central and former Deputy National security minister has been named as the Greater Accra regional minister-designate.

Shani Alhassan Saibu, Yidana Zakarian and Joseph Makubu have been nominated as regional ministers-designate for Northern, North East and Oti regions respectively.

Saeed Muhazu Jibril goes to the Savannah, Stephen Yakubu to Upper East and Hafiz Bin Salih to the Upper West Region.

Archibald Yao Letsa has been retained as the Volta regional minister, Kwabena Okyere Darko Mensah also stays as the Western regional minister, and Richard Obeng will go to the Western North region.

~With Ghana News Agency report


Join Our Mailing List!

* indicates required
- Advertisement -spot_img
- Advertisement -spot_img
Must Read
Related News
- Advertisement -spot_img