- Advertisement -spot_img
26.2 C
HomeTop NewsAPC says rotating party offices between north, south, defers presidential zoning till...

APC says rotating party offices between north, south, defers presidential zoning till after convention

- Advertisement -spot_img

The ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) on Tuesday agreed to alternate sharing of party offices between the north and south during its March 26, convention.

This was disclosed on Tuesday by the Progressive Governors Forum (PGF) after their meeting with President Muhammadu Buhari at the Presidential Villa in Abuja.

Kaduna Governor Nasir El-Rufa’i, who spoke to journalists at the state house, Abuja  said that agreement had been reached on the zoning formula, saying; “We have agreed a zoning formula for all the six geo-political zones.

“Essentially, northern zone will have the positions the south have had in the last eight years. And vice versa.

“It is a very simple, equitable and fair formula. We will now go back and consult at the zonal level and look at the positions that are available and the process of the convention preparation we started in earnest.

“So, by the grace of God, on the 26th of March, we would have done our national convention,” he said.

READ ALSO: Nigeria says no need for OPEC+ to expand its oil output

Speaking on the Channels TV programme politics today, APC director of organisation, Al-Mustapha Medaner, however clarified the zoning arrangement earlier announced by Kaduna governor, saying it was meant for the forthcoming national convention.

According to him, Zoning of policial offices would be announced after the convention when the party’s National Working Committee (NWC) inuagurated and consultation among stakeholders concluded.

The Kaduna State governor also said, “We are committed to ensure that the Peoples Destruction Party doesn’t come back to power.”

At the meeting were Vice President Yemi Osinbajo; Secretary to Government of the Federation (SGF) Boss Mustapha and the Chief of Staff to the President, Ibrahim Gambari.

Eighteen of the Governors are in attendance at the meeting taking place at the Council Chambers.

They are from Yobe, Ekiti, Ebonyi, Jigawa, Cross River, Kaduna, Lagos, Borno, Niger, Gombe, Osun, Kebbi, Anambra dep, Nasarawa, Kwara, Kano, Imo, Kogi, Ogun, and Plateau states.

The outgoing Anambra Deputy Governor is also in attendance.

The governors of Ondo, Katsina and Zamfara were not present during the briefing.

Join Our Mailing List!

* indicates required
- Advertisement -spot_img
- Advertisement -spot_img
Must Read
Related News
- Advertisement -spot_img