- Advertisement -spot_img
28 C
HomeTop NewsAPC and PDP dominate governorship elections, winning 15, 7 each while NNPP...

APC and PDP dominate governorship elections, winning 15, 7 each while NNPP snatches Kano

- Advertisement -spot_img

By Our Special Correspondents

Two of Nigeria’s leading political parties have secured the majority victory in some states based on the results of the weekend governorship elections, which have so far been released by the electoral umpire, the Independent Electoral Commission (INEC).

Elections were conducted in 28 of the federation’s 36 states to bring to an end this year’s election cycle, which began with disputed presidential and National Assembly elections last month.

So far, the ruling All Progressive Congress (APC), which produced Bola Tinubu, a former governor of Lagos, as president-elect in last month’s election, has secured victories in 15 states, while the main opposition party, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), has secured seven states and the New Nigeria Peoples Party has won in one state.

As of the time of this report, the Labour Party, which made a wave and came third in the presidential election last month, is yet to secure victory in any state despite its strong showing at the last presidential and parliamentary elections.

Two races were declared inconclusive because they were too close to call between the APC and the PDP. One was Adamawa state, where the APC candidate was tipped to become the first female governor elected.

READ ALSO: Cocoa farmers in Ivory Coast’s central regions welcome heavy rain

From the official tally as of last night, the ruling APC has won the governorship polls in Sokoto, Katsina, Jigawa, Gombe, Lagos, Kwara, Niger, Yobe, Nasarawa, the C’River, Ebonyi, Ogun, Benue, Kaduna, and Borno.

The PDP secured wins in Plateau, Bauchi, Oyo, Delta, Rivers, Zamfara, and Akwa Ibom states, while the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) emerged victorious in Kano.

The results of the election in Abia and Enugu States were delayed following the dispute between the Labour Party and the PDP over the results from some local government areas.

APC sustained its hold in Kaduna, Borno, Nasarawa, Cross River, Ebonyi, and Niger, while recovering Benue and Sokoto states from the opposition PDP, losing Kano to the NNPP and Plateau and Zamfara to the PDP.

On its part, the PDP retained its hold in Oyo, Bauchi, Delta, Rivers, and Taraba states and gained Zamfara and the Plateau from the ruling APC.

( Story writing and edited by Oludare Mayowa; omayowa@globalfinancialdigest.com)

Join Our Mailing List!

* indicates required
- Advertisement -spot_img
- Advertisement -spot_img
Must Read
Related News
- Advertisement -spot_img