January 20, 2021
  • January 20, 2021
  • Home
  • Global News
  • Air France-KLM now requires transit visa for travelers to UK, hours after Brexit deal was sealed
Air France

Air France-KLM now requires transit visa for travelers to UK, hours after Brexit deal was sealed

By on December 30, 2020 0 121 Views

Few hours after Britain signed its divorce document with the European Union, Air France-KLM has reintroduced an Airport Transit Visa for citizens of some countries, including Nigeria and Ghana, traveling to the United Kingdom beginning from January 2021.

United Kingdom Prime Minister Boris Johnson formally signed his Brexit trade deal with the EU on Wednesday after MPs voted overwhelmingly in favour of the accord, putting the UK on track for an orderly split from Brussels at 11 pm tomorrow Wednesday night.

Effectively by January 31, the United Kingdom will leave the European Union (EU) in line wit the Brexit deal.

However, Air France-KLM in a statement titled, ‘Travel on Air France or KLM to and from the United Kingdom after Brexit – January 1, 2020’ noted that it is now compulsory for citizens of some African and Asian countries to have ATV before they pass through France or the Netherlands.

READ ALSO: Nigeria’s equity market hits 3-year high as Dangote share repurchase lifts ASI to 47.2% YTD

The Airline also noted that citizens of the affected countries with British Visa, long-stay visa or British residence permits, citizens must still have ATV to pass through France to the United Kingdom.

“As of January 1, 2021, citizens of the following countries who are holders of a British visa, long-stay visa or a residence permit issued by the British authorities will need to be in possession of an airport transit visa (ATV) if they transit through France and or the Netherlands,” part of the statement read.

The countries affected are Afghanistan, Angola, Bangladesh, Cameroon, Central Africa Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Ivory Coast, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Eritrea, Ethiopia and Ghana.

Others are Guinea, Haiti, Iran, Iraq, Mali, Mauritania, Nigeria, Pakistan, Philippines, Russia, Senegal, Syria, Palestinians, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, South Sudan, and Sri Lanka.

Air France however said, “Citizens of the above-named countries holding a visa or residence permit in addition to the UK visa/residence permit from Canada, Japan, the USA or European countries are allowed to transit through France or the Netherlands without an ATV.”

Boris Johnson in the historical event sealed the Brexit deal after the hard-fought 1,200-page trade pact was signed by Ursula von der Leyen, the President of the European Commission, in Brussels.

Johnson was then presented with the document in Number 10 as he did the honours and finally brought the curtain down on the Brexit saga which has dominated UK politics since the EU referendum in 2016.

Sign Up For Our Newsletter!

Leave a comment